Admissions · United States
Cal Poly San Luis Obispo Acceptance Rate: Admissions Statistics and TOEFL & IELTS Requirements
Cal Poly San Luis Obispo admitted 30.0% of first-year applicants for fall 2025: 21,367 of 71,309, according to its Common Data Set.
Cal Poly San Luis Obispo TOEFL and IELTS requirements at a glance
| Applying for | TOEFL iBT | IELTS Academic |
|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate (international first-year and transfer) | TOEFL iBT4.5 for TOEFL iBT tests taken on or after 21 January 2026; 80 on the 0–120 scale for tests taken before that date. No section minimums published. | IELTS Academic6.5, taken within the last two years (module not specified) |
Full requirements and official sources · Check your TOEFL band with a free mock test
California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo (Cal Poly SLO) publishes its admissions figures in the Common Data Set, released by its Office of Institutional Research; the newest edition covers fall 2025. This page shows the first-year acceptance rate for the last three cycles, the California-resident, out-of-state, international, wait-list and transfer figures Cal Poly reports, and the TOEFL and IELTS minimums it publishes for international applicants.
Figures read from official sources on · LingoLeap Admissions Research
Cal Poly San Luis Obispo acceptance rate by year
Cal Poly SLO acceptance rate by applicant group
| Group | Cycle | Rate | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|
| California residents | Fall 2025 entering class | 26.4% | 16,743 admitted of 63,520 source |
| Out-of-state (US) | Fall 2025 entering class | 62.1% | 4,413 admitted of 7,109 source |
| International | Fall 2025 entering class | 31.0% | 211 admitted of 680 source |
| California residents | Fall 2024 entering class | 28.9% | 17,725 admitted of 61,431 source |
| Out-of-state (US) | Fall 2024 entering class | 53.6% | 3,486 admitted of 6,508 source |
| International | Fall 2024 entering class | 30.8% | 205 admitted of 665 source |
| California residents | Fall 2023 entering class | 28.2% | 16,017 admitted of 56,726 source |
| Out-of-state (US) | Fall 2023 entering class | 41.4% | 2,700 admitted of 6,517 source |
| International | Fall 2023 entering class | 34.7% | 247 admitted of 712 source |
| Wait list (admitted of those offered a place) | Fall 2025 entering class | 7.3% | 599 admitted of 8,237 offered a place; the number who accepted a place is not reported source |
| Wait list (admitted of those offered a place) | Fall 2024 entering class | 41.6% | 2,905 admitted of 6,988 offered a place source |
| Wait list (admitted of those offered a place) | Fall 2023 entering class | 1.5% | 193 admitted of 13,176 offered a place source |
| Yield (admits who enrolled) | Fall 2025 entering class | 25.5% | 5,456 enrolled of 21,367 admitted source |
| Yield (admits who enrolled) | Fall 2024 entering class | 24.6% | 5,276 enrolled of 21,416 admitted source |
| Yield (admits who enrolled) | Fall 2023 entering class | 27.8% | 5,277 enrolled of 18,964 admitted source |
| Transfer | Fall 2025 | 21.2% | 2,308 admitted of 10,899 source |
| Transfer | Fall 2024 | 19.6% | 2,040 admitted of 10,432 source |
| Transfer | Fall 2023 | 21.2% | 1,950 admitted of 9,218 source |
What the numbers mean
Cal Poly SLO's first-year acceptance rate was 30.0% for fall 2025 (21,367 of 71,309), 31.2% for fall 2024 (21,416 of 68,604) and 29.7% for fall 2023 (18,964 of 63,955). It enrolled 5,456 first-year students in fall 2025.
Most applicants are Californians: 63,520 of the 71,309 for fall 2025. California residents were admitted at a lower rate (26.4%) than out-of-state US applicants (62.1%, 4,413 of 7,109) and international applicants (31.0%, 211 of 680). The out-of-state rate has risen from 41.4% for fall 2023 to 53.6% for fall 2024 and 62.1% for fall 2025, while the international rate has been between 30.8% and 34.7%. Only 33 international first-year students enrolled in fall 2025.
Cal Poly has neither an early decision nor an early action plan; all three Common Data Set editions answer No to both. It uses a wait list, but the number of students admitted from it varies a great deal: 599 of 8,237 offered a place for fall 2025, 2,905 of 6,988 for fall 2024 and 193 of 13,176 for fall 2023. Cal Poly does not report how many accepted a wait-list place, so these rates are measured against places offered. Transfer applicants were admitted at 21.2% for fall 2025 (2,308 of 10,899), slightly below the first-year rate.
For international applicants, Cal Poly's admissions page sets a minimum TOEFL iBT score of 4.5 for tests taken on or after 21 January 2026 and 80 for tests taken before that date, an IELTS minimum of 6.5 and a Duolingo English Test minimum of 115. Applicants educated for at least three years at an English-medium institution can request a waiver, and citizens of the countries Cal Poly lists receive one automatically.
Cal Poly San Luis Obispo TOEFL and IELTS requirements
Minimums for international applicants from the university's own pages. Since 21 January 2026 TOEFL iBT reports a 1–6 band score; the notes give the older 0–120 equivalent where the university states one. Convert TOEFL and IELTS scores.
Undergraduate (international first-year and transfer)
TOEFL iBT: 4.5 for TOEFL iBT tests taken on or after 21 January 2026; 80 on the 0–120 scale for tests taken before that date. No section minimums published.
IELTS Academic: 6.5, taken within the last two years (module not specified)
Duolingo English Test: 115, taken within the last two years. Required of all applicants whose native language is not English. First-year applicants educated for at least three years at an English-medium institution may request a waiver (transfer applicants must also have General Education Area A courses with a B or higher); citizens of listed countries receive an automatic waiver. TOEFL institution code 4038.
Cal Poly Admissions: English Proficiency Exam Requirements (international students) · checked 26 October 2026
Check your score against Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
Take a free 2026-format TOEFL mock test for a 1–6 band estimate, then compare it with the minimum above and with other universities' requirements.
Free TOEFL mock testSign up free to submit your answers for scoring · no credit card
FAQ
What is Cal Poly SLO's acceptance rate?
Cal Poly San Luis Obispo admitted 21,367 of 71,309 first-year applicants for fall 2025, an acceptance rate of 30.0%, according to its Common Data Set. The rate was 31.2% for fall 2024 and 29.7% for fall 2023.
What is Cal Poly SLO's out-of-state acceptance rate?
For fall 2025 Cal Poly admitted 4,413 of 7,109 out-of-state US applicants (62.1%), against 16,743 of 63,520 California residents (26.4%). The out-of-state rate was 53.6% for fall 2024 and 41.4% for fall 2023.
What is Cal Poly SLO's international acceptance rate?
Cal Poly admitted 211 of 680 international first-year applicants for fall 2025 (31.0%), 205 of 665 for fall 2024 (30.8%) and 247 of 712 for fall 2023 (34.7%).
What is Cal Poly SLO's transfer acceptance rate?
Cal Poly admitted 2,308 of 10,899 transfer applicants for fall 2025 (21.2%), 2,040 of 10,432 for fall 2024 (19.6%) and 1,950 of 9,218 for fall 2023 (21.2%).
What TOEFL score does Cal Poly SLO require?
Cal Poly's minimum TOEFL iBT score is 4.5 for tests taken on or after 21 January 2026 and 80 for tests taken before that date. Its institution code is 4038. No section minimums are published.
What IELTS score does Cal Poly SLO require?
Cal Poly's minimum IELTS score is 6.5, from a test taken within the last two years. Some graduate programmes may require higher scores. No band minimums are published, and the page does not specify the IELTS module.